For Now I Am What I Want Not to Be

For now I am what I want not to be:
This shadow’s shadow – this clay that I am.
I long for The One who did ransom me
From bonds of death, the Savior, Son of Man.
For I’m ne’er who I need to be when I
Am faced with opposition fierce as fire.
So shape my heart, O Lord, until I die,
And lead me upward, ever higher;
And when light is gone or filtered thru the mist
Of the vain and foolish longing of mine eyes,
Let light so shine with strength to stand – resist –
And let hymns and psaltery upward fly
Until I reach the gleaming, golden sun,
And thou sayest to me: “Thy work is done.”

Leave a Reply

