David O. McKay’s Vision of the “City Eternal”

As found in Teachings of the Presidents of the Church: David O. McKay, taken from Cherished Experiences from the Writings of President David O. McKay, pages 59–60.

Toward evening, the reflection of the afterglow of a beautiful sunset was most splendid!

…Pondering still upon this beautiful scene, I lay in my [bed] at ten o’clock that night. …I then fell asleep, and beheld in vision something infinitely sublime. In the distance I beheld a beautiful white city. Though it was far away, yet I seemed to realize that trees with luscious fruit, shrubbery with gorgeously tinted leaves, and flowers in perfect bloom abounded everywhere. The clear sky above seemed to reflect these beautiful shades of color. I then saw a great concourse of people approaching the city. Each one wore a white flowing robe and a white headdress. Instantly my attention seemed centered upon their leader, and though I could see only the profile of his features and his body, I recognized him at once as my Savior! The tint and radiance of his countenance were glorious to behold. There was a peace about him which seemed sublime – it was divine!

The city, I understood, was his. It was the City Eternal; and the people following him were to abide there in peace and eternal happiness.

But who were they?

As if the savior read my thoughts, he answered by pointing to a semicircle that then appeared oboe them, and on which were written in gold the words:

These Are They Who Have Overcome the World – 
Who Have Truly Been Born Again!

Leave a Reply

